A Kleenex, F-bomb and WWJS

Thoughts… Garbage in and garbage out… That is a true statement…

When I was in junior high school and one day I was having one of “those days”… I just seemed like everything possible was going wrong… I kept hearing the “F-bomb”… When I used the restroom it was scratched into the stall door… I was literally bombarded by that word…

Now, you need to understand that I was a quiet and fringe girl… Miss goodie two shoes… Polite… I went to church and had my personal faith in God…

But this day? Ugh! I was walking down the hall towards the end of the day and someone bumped into me and my papers and books went flying everywhere and boom… I dropped the F-bomb! I couldn’t believe I had actually said it and felt convicted and shocked immediately…

Now, many are going to say who cares?

For starters, this was back in the early 80’s… The F-bomb wasn’t the 3rd word in people’s sentences…

And secondly… The world isn’t supposed to influence me…

But more importantly, as Christians, we are supposed to let Christ’s light shine…

We are supposed to let only wholesome talk come out…

Ephesians 4:29 (NIV): Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.

Luke 6:45 (NIV): A good man brings good things out of the good stored up in his heart, and an evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in his heart. For the mouth speaks what the heart is full of

Proverbs 10:11 (NLT): The words of the godly are a life-giving fountain; the words of the wicked conceal violent intentions

Proverbs 10:20 (NLT): The words of the godly are like sterling silver;
the heart of a fool is worthless

Many will say… Come on… They are only words… And how does this relate to mental health?

Mental health and thoughts?!?!? It can be like a tornado with thoughts whipping around in their… It’s hard to even find 1 word to control in the battle… Picture trying to grasp a single Kleenex in the tornado…

Only God can intervene… And if I have a plan in place to deal with these days it’s easier…

Whether I’m in highschool or at work or battling mental health or having a great day… I will ALWAYS want peace

Philippians 4:8–10 (NIV): Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me—put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.

Keeping close to God… Keeping my eyes and thoughts on true, noble, right…. Will pre-load my thoughts and make it harder to need to have to catch that Kleenex…

How about throwing around Oh My God like people do today… And I’m sorry by OMG is not Oh My Gosh… Even if that’s what you intend, the rest of the world doesn’t and you know that…

I catch myself with the s word all too often…

People say (excuse) it just fitting in…

I found this article which shares the same view… are we to draw out of the world?

So where to draw the line on language?

What Would Jesus Say?

Could you imagine Jesus saying the F-bomb? How about all the other slang or OMG!?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.